Library & Resources

COVID-19 Border Controls

Below is a summary of the COVID-19 Border Controls currently enforced by state and territory governments. Updates will be made as new information becomes available, however, we recommend that detailed information is accessed via the government website links provided.


The New South Wales and South Australian Governments have imposed border restrictions with Victoria. The NSW Agriculture Worker Permit and SA Cross Border category will allow eligible agricultural workers to travel between NSW and Victoria under conditions.

Refer specific state information below if you are intending to travel from Victoria into these states.

New South Wales

As of Friday 25 September, the public health order (essential workers) has been updated and a new agriculture worker permit is available.

For further information please refer to the following NSW government links below:

South Australia

The South Australian government has imposed varying levels of travel restrictions on travellers from Victoria, NSW and ACT, other than essential workers. Travellers from NT, QLD, TAS and WA are able to enter South Australia directly without restriction.

For further information please refer to the following SA government links below:


The Queensland government has implemented enhanced border control measures. Any person that has been in a declared COVID-19 hotspot during the past 14 days must not enter Queensland, other than essential workers.

For further information please refer to the following Queensland government links below:

Western Australia

The Western Australian government has closed the border unless persons are exempt traveller.

For further information please refer to the following Western Australian government links below:


As of Friday 20 March, all non-essential travellers entering Tasmania must quarantine for 14 days. All visitors to Tasmania must complete a Tasmanian Arrivals Form. This can be completed online before arriving in Tasmania or upon arrival at terminals in Tasmania.

For further information please refer to the following Tasmanian government link below:

National Cabinet (Federal)

National Cabinet has endorsed the Domestic Border Control Freight Movement Protocol to keep freight moving across Australia. The protocol guides, and is enforced by, state and territory jurisdictions.

For further information please refer:

If you are an APL Member please login to the APL Member portal below.


Australian Pork Limited

The producer owned organisation supporting and promoting the Australian pork industry. Australian Pork Limited (APL) is caring for the future of Australian pork.